6th Degree Larceny

HAF Criminal Defense, Employment Law, News & Articles

Under Connecticut law, larceny is defined as: with intent to deprive another of property or to appropriate the same to himself or a third person, he/she wrongfully takes, obtains or withholds such property from an owner. (C.G.S. § 53a-119).

A charge of larceny can vary from larceny in the first degree all the way to larceny in the sixth degree.  In most instances, the degree of larceny a person is charged with depends upon the value of the goods and/or services misappropriated.  If it is determined that the value of property taken is five hundred dollars ($500) or less, the offense would be classified as sixth degree larceny.  Such a charge is a misdemeanor and could include a term of imprisonment of up to three months and a fine of up to $500.

Although a charge of sixth degree larceny is the lowest possible larceny charge, it should not be taken lightly as a conviction can bring about a criminal record and may impact both future employment as well as any other background checks that a defendant may need performed.

Being charged with larceny in any degree is a serious event but it does not have to follow you in the form of a criminal record for the rest of your life.  An experienced attorney may be able to either have the charges against you dropped, or obtain your entrance into one of many Connecticut Pre-Trial Diversionary Programs which can eventually lead to the dismissal of your charges and leave you with no criminal record.  Please call the experienced criminal counsel at Harlow, Adams & Friedman, P.C. today at 203-878-0661 for a free consultation.

Contact Us For a Free Consultation